Skip to main content

About us

Our team – lecturers, research assistants, support staff, lab and workshop personnel – is available for applied research and development (aR&D).

We aspire to achieve top international positioning in the field of thermal and fluid systems engineering:

  • Outstanding practically oriented training in energy technology
  • Innovative customer-oriented aR&D projects
  • Establishment and operation of a leading international research laboratory

We deploy the following resources in pursuit of this objective:

  • Broadly networked expertise, i.e. longstanding experience and a highly effective network of industrial partners and universities
  • Advantageous location in the “Energy Region Northwestern Switzerland” - CCEM, ETH, PSI, industry
  • Synergies with FHNW institutes
  • Ongoing expertise development among our excellent and dedicated staff
  • Inclusion of students in industrial projects

We are committed to working towards achieving and maintaining this ambitious goal on an ongoing basis.

Our institute is constantly extending its expertise through its contacts with other FHNW School of Engineering institutes in the areas of R&D physics, mechanical design, plastics, simulation, automation, particle measurement technology and data analysis. The tools we use are: both numerical and experimental. We have a large computational computer cluster, a wide array of experimental laboratories and extensive array of measurement techniques.

Head of Institute
     
Prof. Dr. Beat Ribi
Head of Institute, Lecturer +41 56 202 74 34 beat.ribi@fhnw.ch
Prof. Dr. Norbert Hofmann
Deputy Head of Institute, Lecturer +41 56 202 73 98 norbert.hofmann@fhnw.ch
Prof. Dr. Christoph Gossweiler
Lecturer, Programme Head Energy and Environmental Technology +41 56 202 73 97 christoph.gossweiler@fhnw.ch
Prof. Dr. Kai Herrmann Lecturer +41 56 202 77 67 kai.herrmann@fhnw.ch
Prof. Dr. Peter Stuber
Lecturer +41 56 202 76 46 peter.stuber@fhnw.ch
Prof. Dr. Daniel Weiss
Lecturer +41 56 202 74 01 daniel.weiss@fhnw.ch
Elvira Knam Administration +41 56 202 74 17 elvira.knam@fhnw.ch
Verena Roos
Administration +41 56 202 85 36
verena.roos@fhnw.ch
Team      
Markus Birchmeier Laboratory +41 56 202 74 14 markus.birchmeier@fhnw.ch
Janine Bochsler Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 85 61 janine.bochsler@fhnw.ch
Christian Breuer Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 74 26 christian.breuer@fhnw.ch
Edgar Brodmann Laboratory +41 56 202 85 07 edgar.brodmann@fhnw.ch
Raphael Brunner Research Assistant +41 56 202 85 34 raphael.brunner@fhnw.ch
Nino Degiampietro Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 85 63 nino.degiampietro@fhnw.ch
Alexey Denisov Research Fellow +41 56 202 77 97 alexey.denisov@fhnw.ch
Weiqun Geng
Research Fellow +41 56 202 79 51 weiqun.geng@fhnw.ch
Jeremias Häseli Research Assistant +41 56 202 78 71 jeremias.haeseli@fhnw.ch
Kevin Hauenstein Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 86 15 kevin.hauenstein@fhnw.ch
Carsten Hersberger Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 75 14 carsten.hersberger@fhnw.ch
David Humair Research Assistant +41 56 202 78 24 david.humair@fhnw.ch
Jan-Marco Kaiser Research Assistant +41 56 202 78 54 janmarco.kaiser@fhnw.ch
Hans-Jürgen Kröning Research Fellow +41 56 202 84 03 hansjuergen.kroening@fhnw.ch
Thomas Manyoky Research Assistant +41 56 202 75 04 thomas.manyoky@fhnw.ch
Dominic Müller Research Assistant +41 56 202 85 51 dominic.mueller@fhnw.ch
Jorim Rosenberg Research Assistant +41 56 202 75 35 jorim.rosenberg@fhnw.ch
Donato Rubinetti Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 85 69 donato.rubinetti@fhnw.ch
Christian Schöchlin Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 75 36 christian.schoechlin@fhnw.ch
Pascal Süess Research Assistant, Master Student +41 56 202 75 15 pascal.sueess@fhnw.ch
Sebastian Teutloff Research Assistant +41 56 202 82 13 sebastian.teutloff@fhnw.ch
Elias Waldvogel Research Assistant +41 56 202 79 78 elias.waldvogel@fhnw.ch
Linus Walker Research Assistant +41 56 202 79 17 linus.walker@fhnw.ch

 

Share this page: