Skip to main content

About us

The FHNW Academy of Art and Design understands itself as a pulsating hotbed, as a catalyst of culture and politics, and as a seismograph designed to identify, delineate, and define socially relevant fields in art, design and science, in theory as well as in practice. Based on the critical perception and reflection of its own mode of seeing and understanding, the Academy sees its role in the task of meeting the challenges of the times by setting out and promoting a wide range of creative spaces and offering its students a promising professional perspective. 

As part of an international network, the Academy consciously seeks collaboration and exchange with partner institutions with a similar tradition in critical discourse and which, like we do, seek solutions for the cultures of the future and are prepared to play a leading part in the process. Training and teaching are communicated and advanced in a synergetic flow between society, art, politics, and economics. The FHNW Academy of Art and Design’s mission is to educate and train a future generation of independent-minded and competent artists and designers.  

Get to know us in person! We look forward to seeing you at the Campus of the Arts.


Prof. Dr. Claudia Perren

Direktorin der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW

to Prof. Dr. Claudia Perren

Advisory Board

Renowned personalities from the working world of arts and design form the Advisory Board of the HGK FHNW. The advisory board accompanies and advises us with their specialist and practical expertise in all matters of higher education development. With its outside perspective, the advisory board supports our quality and continuing development.


Communication and Marketing



Institute management

The ten institutes at the FHNW Academy of Art and Design offer a wide range of BA and MA study programmes, organize trans-disciplinary courses, and engage in art and design research. The institutes are headed by the following persons:

Prof. Werner Baumhakl

Leitung Institut Industrial Design

to Prof. Werner Baumhakl

Prof. Matthias Böttger

Leitung Institut Hyperwerk

to Prof. Matthias Böttger

Prof. Dr. Dorothée King

Leitung Institut Lehrberufe für Gestaltung und Kunst, Leitung Learning Lab Arts and Design

to Prof. Dr. Dorothée King

Prof. Dr. Claudia Mareis

Dozentin Institut Experimentelle Design- und Medienkulturen (IXDM)

to Prof. Dr. Claudia Mareis

Prof. Chus Martínez

Leitung Institut Kunst, Dozentin

to Prof. Chus Martínez

Dr. Ralf Michel

Co-Leitung a.i. Institut Integrative Gestaltung | Masterstudio, Dozent im Modul Design Research

to Dr. Ralf Michel

Prof. Michael Renner

Leitung Institut Visuelle Kommunikation

to Prof. Michael Renner

Dr. Christine Schranz

Co-Leitung a.i. Institut Integrative Gestaltung | Masterstudio, Dozentin im Modul Design Research

to Dr. Christine Schranz

Prof. Dr. Nicolaj van der Meulen

Co-Leitung Institut Ästhetische Praxis und Theorie, Leitung Ressort Studium und Lehre

to Prof. Dr. Nicolaj van der Meulen

Prof. Andreas Wenger

Leitung Institut Innenarchitektur und Szenografie, Dozent

to Prof. Andreas Wenger

Prof. Dr. Jörg Wiesel

Co-Leitung Institut Ästhetische Praxis und Theorie, Leitung Ressort Forschung

to Prof. Dr. Jörg Wiesel

Prof. Kurt Zihlmann

Leitung Institut Mode-Design / Dozent für neue Technologien (CAD) und Produktentwicklung, Leitung und Dozent MA Studio Fashion Design, am Institut Integrative ...

to Prof. Kurt Zihlmann

Teaching staff

The teachers at the FHNW Academy of Art and Design command excellent practical, methodological, communicative, and creative skills. 

At the Academy students are taught and trained by experienced designers, artists, and theorists. Apart from teaching, most of the lecturers are professionally engaged in their own specific work fields.  This means their practical experience flows into teaching. They impart knowledge and skills with a view to advancing the students’ creative competences in a contemporary setting. In addition to its regular teaching staff, the Academy relies on external specialists.


MOM is the representative staff body at the FHNW Academy. Participation has been governed by the FHNW collective labour agreement (GAV) since 1 January 2007. 

The purpose of the FHNW Academy Participatory Commission (GAV A4.5 Abs.4) is to represent staff interests at the Academy level (GAV A4.2) and become involved in the running of current operations (GAV A4.9) according to the respective areas of participation and participatory rights (GAV A4.3 Abs. 3). 

The FHNW Academy Participatory Commission is made up of ten members representing the various staff categories. It includes lecturers, research associates, as well technical and administrative staff members from of the Academy’s institutes, in consideration of appropriate gender representation.

Viola Diehl (Co-chairperson)
André Haarscheidt (Co-chairperson)

Student Body

The HGK Student Body represents the interests of the students. In case of questions and problems it addresses the appropriate contact person. It promotes the exchange of ideas and opinions between students at various institutes, supports student projects, communicates with the teaching staff and directorate, and seeks representation in selected committees at the Academy.

Director: Sarah Wyss
Roland Knubel
Anita Mucolli


Alumni HGKx

The independent association of FHNW Academy of Art and Design alumni was established at the end of 2012. Its purpose is to provide an active network of former graduates from all the Academy’s institutes, to share skills and knowledge, to exchange opinions and experiences, and to develop synergies. The members of HGKx organize events and, on request, help to find former graduates who are willing to provide advice on study matters or professional perspectives and opportunities.

Diversity and equality

The University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland FHNW and the Academy of Art and Design recognize and endorse with their diversity policy the rich cultural and social backgrounds of their students and staff members and promote the awareness of diversity as a potential and resource. The principles of diversity and equality find clear expression at the federal level, in university law, in the FHNW treaty, as well as in numerous strategic papers and documents. The existence of a central staff unit and part-time equal opportunities officers at each university underpin the significance of the principle of diversity and equality.

Martina Siegwolf

Dozentin für Kunstvermittlung, Diversity-Beauftragte HGK FHNW

to Martina Siegwolf

Job vacancies

Here you can access the FHNW job portal.

Dreispitz Basel

FHNW University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland Academy of Art and Design Freilager-Platz 1 4142 Münchenstein near Basel
Share this page: